Inner Banner


YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2017

Sanctioned by Badminton World Federation and hosted by Hong Kong Badminton Association, the 6-day “Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2017 - Part of the MetLifeBWF World Superseries” will be held during 21-26 November at Hong Kong Coliseum. The event this year is the 13th consecutive year sponsored by Yonex-Sunrise with total grand prize money of US$400,000 and one of the MetLifeBWF World Superseries.  “YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open 2017 - Part of the MetLife BWF World Superseries” is proud of beingan “M” Mark event that helps enhance the image of Hong Kong as Asia’s sports event capital. The “M” Mark awarded by the Major Sports Events Committee, symbolising intense, spectacular and signature event in the territory sports calendar.
Mr. Tong Wai Lun BBS MH JP, HKBA Chairman, expressed that the competition entry is overwhelming and attracted 291 top players from 21 countries and regions to participate, including the world number one rankers, namely Viktor Axelsen from Denmark; Tai Tzu Ying from Chinese Taipei; Kevin Sukamuljo/Marcus Gideon from Indonesia; Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi from Japan.  Other top players include China’s Lin Dan, Chen Long, Chen Qingchen/Jia Yifan, Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong, Zhang Nan/Liu Cheng; Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei; Korea’s Son Wan Ho, Sung Ji Hyun; Spain’s Carolina Marin; Denmark’s Christinna Pedersen, Kamilla Juhl; India’s Srikanth Kidambi, Sindhu P.V.; Chinese Taipei’s Chou Tien Chen; Thailand’s Ratchanok Intanon; and Indonesia’s Tontowi Ahmad, Liliyana Natsir. Hong Kong Badminton Team achieved very good results last year including one gold medal and three bronze medals.   This year they will continue to send all their elite players to attend, including the crown defender Ng Ka Long; the mixed doubles duo of Tse Ying Suet/Tang Chun Man who just won the championship at the Denmark Superseries; and Lee Chun Hei/Chau Hoi Wah who won the bronze medal at the World Championships in August.  Other players include Wong Wing Ki, Hu Yun, Wei Nan, Lee Cheuk Yiu, Cheung Ngan Yi, Yip Pui Yin, Poon Lok Yan, Or Chin Chung and Law Cheuk Him.
Besides, the webpage for this tournament: has been activated and updated news can be found there.  Tickets will be available for sale from 3 November at URBTIX.  Entry tickets to qualifying rounds and round of 32 for Mixed Doubles on 21 November is free for distribution. Interested parties can send self-address envelope with stamp to HKBA office.  Four tickets are distributed for each person while tickets are available.
Enquiry: 2504 8318 (on or before 14 November); 2330 9838 (15-26 November).

Additional information